Give It Away!

photo by Alisha Frank

Within every tin of Inner Wisdom Cards is a sharing card.

It may look like the one above, or it may actually say, “Sharing Card” on it.  What do you do when you pull that card from the deck?  Share it!  Give it to a friend, colleague, or loved one whose inner wisdom you value or admire.

People love to be acknowledged.

So many of us are not “seen”.  Handing someone a card that acknowledges their inner wisdom is a rare gift.  My gift to you, in creating that card and including it in the deck, is to give you the experience of touching someone’s heart deeply and meaningfully with the simplest of gestures.  It’s a wonderful feeling! Enjoy!



Founder & Designer of Inner Wisdom Products


What’s A Chakra & What Does It Do?

You Can Shift Your Energy

At its most basic, the chakra system is a field of subtle energy held in and around your body. Our friends at describe the chakras as centers of transformation. Others call the chakras wheels of light, or wheels of energy.


The concept of wheels of energy inspired my mandala art, some of which I used in designing Inner Wisdom Cards.


There are many ways to activate, balance and work with your individual chakras. Personally, I find that looking at a mandala has a very positive effect on my subtle energy body. Adding uplifting words enhances the effect.


The Chakra System and Inner Wisdom Cards

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine. It’s also called the 1st chakra or Muladhara. This chakra affects your skeletal system, large intestine, kidneys, blood, adrenal glands, plus your sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous system. To activate and balance the 1st chakra, I used a red mandala with messages that correspond to feelings of being rooted, grounded, stable and strong.

The sacral chakra is located at the sacrum, just below the belly button. It’s also called the 2nd chakra or Svadisthana. This chakra affects your emotions, your reproductive system, as well as your kidneys and bladder. To activate and balance the 2nd chakra, I used orange mandalas with messages that correspond to feelings of being creative, sensual, generous and prosperous.

The solar plexus chakra is located between the navel and solar plexus. It’s also called the 3rd chakra or Manipura.   This chakra affects your digestive system, liver, pancreas and adrenal system. To activate and balance the 3rd chakra, I used golden mandalas with messages that correspond to feelings of being empowered, confident, strong and active.


The heart chakra is located at the chest. It’s also called the 4th chakra or Anahata.  This chakra affects your heart, lungs, circulatory system, arms and hands.  To activate and balance the 4th chakra, I used green mandalas with messages that correspond to feelings of being loving, loved, forgiving, and connected.

The throat chakra is located in the neck. It’s also called the 5th chakra or Visuddha. This chakra affects your throat, ears, mouth, shoulders and neck. To activate and balance the 5th chakra, I used turquoise mandalas with messages that correspond to communicating clearly and lovingly with yourself and others, as well as messages that correspond to feeling fully self-expressed.

The brow chakra is located in the center of the forehead. It’s also called the 6th chakra, the Third Eye or Ajna. This chakra affects the pituitary gland, eyes, base of the skull and brow. To activate and balance the 6th chakra, I used indigo mandalas with messages that correspond to feelings of clarity, decisiveness, and wisdom.

The crown chakra is located at the top of the head. It’s also called the 7th chakra or Sahasrara. This chakra affects the pineal gland, cerebral cortex and central nervous system.  To activate and balance the 7th chakra, I used purple mandalas with messages that correspond to divine connection and spirituality.


If you’d like to receive a free Inner Wisdom Card, chosen just for you from one of the 343 designs I created, send me a shout out on Twitter and Facebook.

How to Use Chakra Meditation in Your Yoga Class

It’s easy to add chakra meditation to your personal yoga practice, and it’s easy to add chakra meditation to a yoga class you’re teaching! Yoga teachers & life coaches are using Inner Wisdom Cards to enhance their practice and work with clients.

In your personal practice try the following:

1. Chakra balancing:

Lay out all the Inner Wisdom Cards in the set, and choose 1 card of each color that most resonates with you in the moment. Lay your 7 chakra cards in a line or semi circle in front of you. Take a moment to reflect on each one. Feel the energy of the image and message on each card affect your subtle energy field.

In a class you’re teaching try:

1. Personalized Reflection:

Invite each student to choose an Inner Wisdom Card at random & reflect on it during pranayama, asana, or savasana.

2. Chakra-themed Yoga Class:

Create a themed yoga class inspired by your favorite Inner Wisdom Card. Choose poses to activate and strengthen that specific chakra. Incorporate the message from the card into the guided meditation at the start or end of class.

The Doorway to Meditation

“Sitting meditation isn’t my thing.”

A friend recently told me that after meditating for five minutes her mind gets too restless to continue. “I’m not good at it,” she said. “Sitting meditation just isn’t my thing. Now, walking the dogs is my meditation.”

To paraphrase Swami Kripalu, meditation is not about the position, but about the mindset. If sitting doesn’t work for you for any reason, and if you have found another way to meditate, whether through movement or creating art or something else, then that’s great. However, I want to address my friend’s comment, because it is a lot like what I’ve heard many people say.

“I’m not good at meditation.”

There is really no such thing as being “good” or “bad” at meditation. In fact, a major reason to meditate is to release the energy of judgment from your mind.

Real Meditation Begins When Thoughts Arise 
My friend, meditation doesn’t end when thoughts arise. The moment that thoughts arise is actually when the real meditation begins. This is your chance to notice your habits of mind! Don’t judge them; witness them.

Observe any patterns of thought you’ve developed. Notice how those patterns make you feel. This non-judgemental observation will help you discover whether your habits of mind hold you back, or actually uplift you and help you move forward into growth. If you discover a thought pattern that holds you back, you have the power to release it, to replace it with a better feeling stream of thought, and let that uplifting stream carry you toward the highest version of yourself.
Walk Through The Doorway

You were born to discover and express the highest version of yourself. Don’t let thought stop you from your birthright. Let it be a doorway to the beautiful journey that awaits!